About T1

Six teams for the Championship, to participate with a total of 12 PRIMA World Trucks.
Scheduled to be held at BIC, Greater Noida, on March 23, 2014.

Tata Motors announced the launch of the T1 PRIMA TRUCK RACING CHAMPIONSHIP on 22nd January 2013, in Delhi to bring truck racing to India for the first time. The first ever truck racing championship in India has been inscribed on the calendars of FIA (Federation Internationale de l'Automobile) and FMSCI (the Federation of Motor Sports Clubs of India). The Truck Racing Championship will be held on March 23, 2014, at the internationally acclaimed Buddh International Circuit to give Indian audiences a grand spectacle of trucks competing against each other.

T1 PRIMA TRUCK RACING CHAMPIONSHIP is being conducted under the aegis of FIA & FMSCI. The FIA is the governing body for world motor sport and the federation of the world's leading motoring organisations. One of the core responsibilities of the FIA is the development of motor sport worldwide. Through its national member clubs the FIA is involved in every level of motor sport and its remit extends to the millions of amateurs and professionals who enjoy motor sport in all of its variety. The FMSCI is a long-standing member of the FIA and is the only national motor sport federation recognised by the Government of India, for the promotion and control of motor sport in India, and is affiliated to the prestigious Indian Olympic Association.

The championship will feature 12 Tata PRIMA trucks, built for the purpose. These will be divided among six teams, with participation from experienced international drivers. The T1 PRIMA TRUCK RACING CHAMPIONSHIP is being organised by MMSCI, with safety and performance standards being followed as per (BTRA) British Truck Racing Association guidelines.

Tata Prima 4038.S will compete in the T1 PRIMA TRUCK RACING CHAMPIONSHIP 2014, with the massive power of 370 BHP @ 2100 RPM and a top speed of 110 Km/h. To make these Prima trucks fit for racing, 22 key modifications were made to meet a mix of safety and performance needs as per guidelines from British Truck Racing Association. These included significant changes in fuel tank, brake, cooling system, propeller shaft guards, racing seats and safety belts, exhaust, steering wheel among others. The trucks have gone through multiple quality checks and have also been tested on the test circuit at Jamshedpur for high speed run and control.

Buddh International F1 Circuit, acclaimed to be the best race circuit in India, will host the inaugural T1 PRIMA TRUCK RACING CHAMPIONSHIP. On the Race day, there will be two races. The first one a qualifier race, followed by the main race, seeing a rolling start of big Tata Prima race trucks. A pool of internationally acclaimed drivers, with proven excellence in the field of Truck Racing like British Truck Racing Championship and European Truck Racing Championship, has been created for this mega event.

The T1 PRIMA TRUCK RACING CHAMPIONSHIP will also witness two-time British truck racing champion, Steve Horne. As one of the most celebrated, longest serving truck racing drivers, Steve Horne has been instrumental in multiple operational aspects of India's first truck racing championship.